Brand Study › Pet brands › Native Pet

Native Pet

Clean-label, vet-developed supplements for dogs (and now cats), mostly powders, oils and air-dried chews, sold online and in 13,000+ US stores.

Pet brandsstudyFit: Low for nowLive Meta ads: ~68Seen 2026-09-30nativepet.com ↗
Native Pet on a phone, first screen
First screen on a phone, as a new visitor sees it (Sep 30, 2026; cookie banner declined)
Native Pet homepage, scrolled
Scroll — the top of the homepage, pop-ups hidden
Live Meta ads today
~68own page 68 · US, Sep 30
Retail locations
13,000+ (up from nearly 2,000 in Oct 2023)12,72026-06
Funding
$6M Series A (2022) + $11M Series B (2023)4,62023-08
The Daily reviews on site
4.7 out of 5 from 675 reviews142026-09-30

Hero product: The Daily (their '#1 best-selling dog supplement')14,13,15

FormatPowder, 11 benefits in one scoop (collagen, glucosamine, chondroitin, pumpkin fiber, DHA, probiotics and more) on a goat-milk base. 1 scoop per 25 lb, mixed into food.

One-time$19.99 (30 scoops), $34.99 (60), $49.99 (90), $64.99 (120).

SubscriptionProduct data (Skio subscription app): 40% off the first order, then 15% off every order; delivery monthly or every 2, 3 or 4 months; skip, pause or cancel in the account.

Other offers'Take the quiz + $5 off'. 'Buy 3 and save 15%' bundle (The Daily + Omega Oil + Probiotic) and 'Build your bundle + 15% off'. Free shipping on $34.99+. Free Daily travel size on orders $75+. Points program.

Guarantee30-day, 100% satisfaction: full refund, no return shipping. Unopened product can be given to a friend or a local shelter instead.

Founded2017 in St. Louis by childhood friends Dan Schaefer (CEO) and Pat Barron (COO).3,21
Origin storyDan adopted Louie, a Labrador puppy who came with fleas and a stomach worm; specialty nutrition helped him. Dan: 'if supplements are huge in humans, they should be even bigger for dogs.'3,21
Funding$6M Series A (Mar 2022), led by CAVU Venture Partners, with Mars' Companion Fund and Selva Ventures. $11M Series B (Aug 2023), led by CAVU Consumer Partners.4,6
RebrandJan 2023, led by Uncommon, the in-house agency of investor CAVU; new packaging and positioning.5
ExpertIn-house board-certified veterinary nutritionist Dr. Dan Su (DACVIM Nutrition); every formula is credited to him.11,13
Marketing leadFirst-ever CMO Ariel Stoddard (July 2026): ex-President of MeUndies, ex-SVP/GM at Fabletics; 'brand and performance marketing'.1
Product standard'Native Pet Pact': formulas made 100% in-house, no additives, target no more than 5 inactive ingredients, human-grade whole foods, taste-tested before every launch.16,5

Their system how they get and keep customers

Ads20,1

Many problem-first Meta ads that push one problem ('wedge') at a time, now bad breath and dental health. They mix vet explanations with owner testimonials.

  • Motion (mid-2026): 85 active Meta ads, about 36 new creatives per week. Top formats: Demo 15%, Testimonial 14%, Offer-first banner 13%.
  • Current wedge: Clean Breath, framed as 'bad breath is a gut problem' and a cheaper, easier option than a vet dental cleaning.
  • Hooks: 'THIS IS WHY DENTAL CHEWS ONLY WORK FOR AN HOUR', 'BRUSHING HIS TEETH WAS A LOSING BATTLE FOR 3 YEARS...', 'I love her. I just hate her breath.', 'I started noticing my dog was so stiff after his naps'.
  • Formats seen: a vet in a clinic explaining the cause; an x-ray animation of bacteria moving to the stomach; a search-bar mock-up with 3 benefits; a street billboard filmed from a car.
  • The new CMO comes from Fabletics and MeUndies, two subscription DTC brands known for performance marketing.

Landing pages & funnel13,14,16

Shop by concern, a quiz that pays $5, and bundles. Product pages stack vet authority, survey numbers and an AI review summary.

  • Menu by concern: gut health, skin, mobility and joints, allergy, 'runny + irregular poop', picky eaters, stress, dental, senior.
  • Quiz 'Take the quiz + $5 off' builds 'a personalized routine in 2 minutes' by age, size and needs.
  • Product page proof: customer survey ('86% of pet parents reported an improvement in their dogs' quality of life'), a taste test ('91% of dogs couldn't resist'), an AI summary of the last 100 reviews, and an FAQ that attacks soft chews ('up to 65% inactive filler' vs The Daily's 80% actives).
  • Homepage block: 'Every Native Pet formula is developed by Dr. Dan Su', plus an ingredient wall ('organic pumpkin, found in: PUMPKIN').
  • Page code shows A/B testing tools: Shoplift (one live test hides the 'philosophy' page link) and Intelligems.

Offer & subscription14,13,15

A deep first-order subscription discount (40%), then 15% ongoing, plus small extra hooks: quiz money, bundles, free gift, points.

  • Subscription plans in the product data: 40% off the first order, then 15%; monthly to every 4 months. Other 'exclusive' plans give a flat 15%.
  • Bundles: 'Buy 3 and save 15%' and 'Build your bundle + 15% off'.
  • Free shipping on every $34.99+ order; free Daily travel size on orders $75+.
  • Quiz gives $5 off.
  • Refund without returns: full refund within 30 days, and they ask you to donate unopened product to a shelter.

Creators & ambassadors18,19,14,20,22

An always-on affiliate / ambassador program (20% commission) run on Superfiliate, started in 2021 with big pet creators and review sites.

  • Affiliate terms: 20% commission per sale, 20% off the first order for the creator's audience, ongoing free product, a personal Native Pet profile page to share.
  • Program launched April 2021 with Vivian Agency; they recruited the largest pet creators and review sites (Pet Guide, Acme Canine, Our Fit Pets) and reached '10,000 monthly sales revenue' within a couple of months (currency not stated).
  • 'Become an ambassador' link in the site footer.
  • Owner testimonials are a main Meta ad format.
  • Modash lists 33 creators sponsored by Native Pet (June 2026 page, weak source).

Channels4,3,8,9,10,11,7,12,2,14

Online (own site, Amazon, Chewy) plus very fast retail growth, led by pet specialty, farm stores and natural grocery.

  • 2022 channels: Amazon, Boxed, Chewy, Walmart, Thrive Market, select Target stores, nativepet.com. Target went nationwide in March 2022.
  • Tractor Supply 2,200+ stores (Mar 2024); PetSmart 1,500+ (Sep 2024); Whole Foods 522 stores, the first pet supplement brand in the chain's history, plus Sprouts 443 (Apr 2025); Pet Supplies Plus 720+ (Jul 2025).
  • Total stores: nearly 2,000 (Oct 2023), 7,700+ (Apr 2025), 8,400+ (Jul 2025), 13,000+ (Jun 2026).
  • Amazon: per Incrementum Digital's blog, revenue 'more than doubled' each year since launch; they target search terms like 'organic pet supplements' (weak source).
  • Content: 'The Blog Park' blog linked from product pages.

Retention17,14,13

Subscription with a first-order hook, a points program, and routine-building (quiz, bundles, pairings) so each customer buys more than one product.

  • 'Pet Perks' rewards: 250 'belly rubs' points for joining; earn on orders, referrals and birthdays; bigger rewards for bigger spenders.
  • Cross-sell on the product page: 'The Daily + Omega Oil: the perfect pair for joint, heart + brain health'.
  • Life-stage upgrade products, e.g. 'Senior Daily'.
  • Page code loads Klaviyo (email), Attentive (SMS), LoyaltyLion (loyalty), Okendo (reviews), Rebuy (upsell) and a Gorgias help center.

All the numbers as reported by each source, with its date — ad counts from Motion are an older snapshot than the live count above

WhatNumberDate
Retail locations13,000+ (up from nearly 2,000 in Oct 2023)12,72026-06
Funding$6M Series A (2022) + $11M Series B (2023)4,62023-08
Meta ads85 active ads, about 36 new creatives a week202026 (Motion, refreshed ~4 months before 2026-09-30)
The Daily reviews on site4.7 out of 5 from 675 reviews142026-09-30
Customer survey claim86% saw better quality of life; 85% better gut health; 80% better skin (their survey)142026-09-30
Affiliate commission20% per sale; audience gets 20% off first order182026-09-30
RevenueNot disclosed

What makes them different

01

Clean-label as the attack: 'no more than 5 inactive ingredients' and air-dried chews and powders instead of soft chews, which they say can be up to 65% filler.

02

A very deep first subscription order (40% off), then 15%.

03

One problem 'wedge' at a time in ads (now dental and breath), explained by a vet and proved by owners, with a very high creative cadence (about 36 new ads a week).

04

Fast retail growth led by natural grocery (the first pet supplement brand in Whole Foods), even though it also sells DTC.

What we could add copy the structure, never their assets or claims

For MIRANEST

  • Add a 'Our standard' page like the Native Pet Pact: short, number-based promises (what is in one stick, what is never in it, who formulates it, how it is tested). Use it as a trust link from ads.
  • Add a first-subscription-order test (big discount on order 1, lower after) against our current 20% + free gift.
  • Add 'wedge' ad sets with the Native Pet hook pattern: 'This is why [the usual fix] only works for [a short time]' (e.g. why shampoos do not fix Alopecia X), a vet explains, then an owner testimonial ad as follow-up.
  • Add an affiliate / ambassador program for US dog creators: commission per sale, a discount for their audience, free product every month, a personal landing page.
  • Add a free travel-size gift at a higher cart value to lift order size.
  • Add an AI summary of recent reviews and, only after a real customer survey, survey numbers on the product page.
  • Add a refund-without-return rule: keep or donate the product, refund in 30 days.

For BI-SU

  • Add a clean-label 'standard' page with number-based promises about each jelly.
  • Add a first-subscription-order discount test.
  • Add a short quiz that pays a small reward and builds a daily ritual.
  • Add a free travel-size jelly as a gift at a higher cart value.
  • Add an ambassador program with commission, audience discount and monthly product.

Watch out

Where to look

Website ↗Meta Ad Library — Native Pet page (live ads) ↗Hero product (The Daily) ↗Native Pet Pact ↗Refund policy ↗Affiliate portal ↗Motion ad breakdown ↗Amazon store ↗

Open questions not verified yet — for the deep research

Sources · 22
  1. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet names first chief marketing officer · 2026-07-21
  2. Incrementum Digital blog: Pet Honesty and Native Pet Amazon success stories · 2025-04-28
  3. St. Louis Magazine: Meet the St. Louis-based entrepreneurs behind Native Pet · 2022-03-18
  4. PR Newswire: Native Pet scoops up $6 million in Series A funding led by CAVU Venture Partners · 2022-03-24
  5. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet rebrands to support dog wellness · 2023-01-27
  6. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet to accelerate business upon receiving $11 million · 2023-08-15
  7. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet launches new all-in-one supplement (The Daily) · 2023-10-16
  8. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet enters Tractor Supply · 2024-04-01
  9. Pet Food Processing: Native Pet brings products to PetSmart · 2024-09-10
  10. PR Newswire: Native Pet announces nationwide entry into leading natural grocery stores · 2025-04-28
  11. PR Newswire: Native Pet supplements now available at Pet Supplies Plus · 2025-07-08
  12. PetfoodIndustry: Native Pet launches UC-II joint supplement for dogs · 2026-06-10
  13. Native Pet homepage (text and page code) · seen 2026-09-30
  14. Native Pet The Daily product page and product data · seen 2026-09-30
  15. Native Pet refund policy · seen 2026-09-30
  16. Native Pet Pact (philosophy page) · seen 2026-09-30
  17. Native Pet rewards page (Pet Perks) · seen 2026-09-30
  18. Native Pet affiliate portal (Superfiliate) · seen 2026-09-30
  19. Vivian Agency case study: Native Pet · n.d.
  20. Motion: How Native Pet advertises on Meta · refreshed ~2026-05/06, seen 2026-09-30
  21. WUWM Midwest Moxie: How an adopted dog named Louie inspired a growing business · 2025-11-16
  22. Modash: Native Pet influencers · 2026-06
← PreviousZesty PawsNext →Nutrafol

Profile researched 2026-09-30 from the brand’s own site and product pages, company filings and press releases, founder/CMO interviews, vendor case studies and trade press — every point links to its source; agency/blog teardowns are marked as weaker; anything unconfirmed is under Open questions. Live ad count: Meta Ad Library, United States, active ads on the brand’s own page(s), counted 2026-09-30. Phone captures: iPhone-size browser, 2026-09-30. Notes: fuma-hk/research/brand-study/nativepet.json